Register

Sign In using your Campus Account

TESTIMONIALS

What our students say about us

As this was my very first experience with any Poetry School events/courses, I just had to write to tell you that I thought the first ‘Saturday Session’ (Jan 28th) with Ros Barber was really something special. Even with a large group, she delivered great insights into everyone’s work —  she deftly managed to creatively support each poet while doing laser-focus surgeries on the weaker parts of our poems. I left with some excellent suggestions on how to make my poems stronger and because the group was so diverse and talented, I found myself jotting down loads of new ideas for writing experiments later. The group was entirely made up poets who have been coming to Dr Barber’s workshops loyally for years. This said, they were warm and welcoming and I felt as if I too had been part of the group for a long time. – Jennifer Minks on Ros Barber’s Spring 2017 Saturday Sessions.

It’s definitely increased my confidence. I was also able to apply for a bursary, which not only gave me knowledge I wouldn’t have acquired otherwise, I also felt validated and valued as a poet. – Autumn 2016 survey response

I have been so lucky to find the Poetry School, from the first time I stepped into the on line community and the wonderful face to face classes – I have grown as a poet. The Poetry School – has made learning accessible, enjoyable, social, challenging and fruitful. It has helped craft poems for my first pamphlet and widened my poetry network and enabled me to work with some the best poets writing today – It makes me wish I had found it sooner – Thank you.  – Jessica Mookherjee, author of The Swell (Tell-Tale Press)

The content and assignments were amazing. I learned a lot that will affect all aspects of my writing. The course far exceeded my expectations, which were already high, having previously done a course with the same tutor. Already had one of the assignments published (Morning Star newspaper), and others that I will be sending out.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

Having moved out of London, I’m finding access to online courses invaluable. Writing can be a solitary pursuit so its great to be able to tap into group activities, have a course-led structure to lend regularity and a bit of useful pressure to one’s writing practice, to work alongside peers and feel connected.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

Online courses with experienced, committed, able tutors are a boon to poets who find travel to London difficult, either in terms of distance, time or practicality. It is an excellent solution.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

I was struggling to write and feeling a bit like giving up before the course, but Catherine’s feedback has both inspired me to keep going and motivated me to try to sharpen up my inner editor – just what I needed. Many thanks to her and to the Poetry School.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

The Poetry School has changed my life and is one of my absolute joys. It’s taken me from a place where I was afraid to share my rather crappy beginner efforts to a position where I feel as if I’m starting to produce something of some value which I now feel confident enough to submit for publication. It has also introduced me to a wonderful community of poets which makes me feel part of the great river of poetry!
– Autumn 2016 survey response

I have definitely written poems I have been proud of, which have been inspired by Poetry School courses over the years, and which have been placed in competitions or in magazines, eventually ending up in collections, so thank you. When I need you, you’re there!
– Autumn 2016 survey response

The Poetry School has been one of the most motivating transformative forces in my life in recent times. As a beginner with no real contact with other poets I was amazed to find this vibrant well organized creative forum and just as amazed that I could be part of it. It has given me both confidence and resolve to write and publish.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

I will definitely be doing as many PS courses as I can fit in. Thanks.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

Thanks to everyone on the Poetry School team for all your hard working in helping to fuel the dreams of poets around the world and for building an excellent online community.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

An online feedback course with Catherine Smith helped me to develop and perfect poems that were subsequently included in my first collection. The importance of feedback is fundamental for any poet looking to publish.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

The Poetry School has been one of the most motivating transformative forces in my life in recent times. As a beginner with no real contact with other poets I was amazed to find this vibrant well organized creative forum and just as amazed that I could be part of it. It has given me both confidence and resolve to write and publish.
– Autumn 2016 survey response

I just wanted to say that my poem ‘Stranded, After Ester Naomi Perqui’ has been accepted for publication by Brittle Star. The poem was written during the Poetry School’s Putting A Poet In Your Pocket online workshop in 2014. Thanks to tutor Kim Moore for her great prompt and to her and the other group members for their comments which greatly improved the poem.
– Michael Farry, by email, 11 November 2016

Ira Lightman’s Radio, Radio: Making Poetry Sound was a brilliant course, bringing together sound, ideas and technology! Ira introduced us to new skills each week. He had an amazing knowledge of poetry and culture, and was really able to help us develop our ideas into something that you might hear on radio. I learned lots, and I hope to put it into action.
– Rebecca Mackenzie, by email, October 2016

I’m pretty excited to say that the new edition of The Rialto (87) has one of my poems in it. It’s called ‘Snow Globes Sit on Our Top Shelves’ and came about as a result of one of the assignments on Catherine Smith’s Trust the Image course 6 months ago. I’d like to thank Catherine as well as the other Trust the Image group members for some incredibly useful feedback on the earlier and shakier version of this piece.
– David Scott, by email, November 2016

This course was inspirational in motivating me to submit work for publication and in eliminating the “fear factor”.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Routes Into Poetry has definitely changed my life. Before starting the course I didn’t have the confidence to share my poems in public, and my writing was suffering from being kept in the dark. Routes was a scary jump into the deep end – writing a new poem every week, sharing it with the group, and receiving detailed feedback! Tammy is the most inspiring and supportive tutor anyone could hope for, and it has been fantastic to be part of a group of poets (now friends), working on our craft and our confidence together. Over the last year I have learned and developed more than I could have imagined, and am now going on to start the MA in Writing Poetry this September. Thank you to everyone at the Poetry School for all the work you do!
– Summer 2016 survey response.

It’s given me much pleasure and helped me to recover from the effects of gruelling cancer treatment.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I really enjoy the level of stimulus at the Poetry School where all members of the class bring such a high level of knowledge about poetry and high quality poetry to the group. Matthew Caley is excellent at challenging us all to new ideas and directions and at creating a group ethos.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I guess it helped me finally to ‘come out’ about writing poetry.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

The range and quality of tutors makes contemporary poetry seem less remote and more accessible. 
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Enjoy meeting and sharing poems with other members of the group and receiving and giving tutor and colleagues feedback.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

The Poetry School is an oasis of creativity in a busy world. I’ve met people who have become friends, expanded my horizons, skills and ambitions and encountered a community of like-minded, warm and generous poets. I will miss the year-long course I’ve just finished for the focus and the company, but already looking forward to the next.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I love the excellent supportive tutors and staff and the supportive and challenging environment at the Poetry School. Thank you.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I had to leave ‘on the dot’ after Dante Micheaux’s Lyric Poetry workshop so wasn’t able to thank him properly or to tell him how much I enjoyed the day, how much I learnt from him, and how much I admire the rigour (without the ‘mortis’!) that he brings to the reading and writing of poetry. What a treasure London has in Dante! If Australia weren’t so far away, I’d sign up for any and all courses for which he was teacher. 
– Louise Nicholas, by email, October 2016

My work is continually improving as a result of the Poetry School and my knowledge and yearning for a still deeper understanding of the art and craft of poetry continues to grow. Thank you so much.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Thank you one and all for a life changing experience.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Tim Dooley’s class has introduced me to new works & interest as well as different poets and their work.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

This course has been very interesting & beneficial – I have enjoyed it a lot.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

The Poetry School is a brilliant place to learn and share work… I’ll be back 🙂 
– Summer 2016 survey response.

The feedback course was a good way for me to see where I am with my poetry and I enjoyed the openness of participants and tutor alike regarding the level (I am starting out)
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I have always enjoyed writing in verse, but the Courses and workshops I have attended at the Poetry School have taught me about the craft of poetry and the various forms in which it can be most tellingly expressed.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

This has been an excellent and thought provoking course. Many thanks, Dai. Thanks also to you my  fellow writers.  Your work, so diverse,  provided new perspectives on the  ways poetry might be going or could go. I found it all very valuable and illuminating.
– Patrick Early, on Dai George’s online course Irony & Edge Summer 2016

My new collection ‘The Puppeteer’s Daughter; includes several poems written as the result of attending courses at The Poetry School. ‘Wading Through Treacle’ and ‘Green’ etc . This year I loved writing ‘The Pew’ in memory of Sir John Betjeman.
– Ann Perrin, Summer 2016 survey response

Without the poetry school I would never have had the nerve publish my poetry.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Published first pamphlet which has been well received. Was invited to mentor a beginning poet, which is working well for both of us and I am using the workshopping techniques have learnt at PS. Am now working on second pamphlet.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

All of my workshops at The Poetry School (I just found this place!) have been exceptional in so many ways, and I feel very lucky to have found a space where lots of really bright and talented people are thinking about poetry. Reading all your poems each week was definitely half of the delight and part of the learning about all the ways poems are “made”. I am pleased that we were so diverse in our subjects and approaches! And this course has been especially and positively challenging in exposing my process of getting at something/someone and representing it in a way that I feel is satisfying. Thank you one and all. And again, Sarah, for your thoughtful and encompassing assignments and the spirit of kindness and curiosity you bring to the space.
– Nicole Burdick, on Sarah Hesketh’s Poetry as Portraiture online course Summer 2016

It gives me both structure and delight. I would not be writing nearly so much had it not been for Kathryn Maris’s class.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Four poems published this year in reputable magazines and I won the Ripley Inaugural Competition with a poem I had written during the course.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Very efficient and very friendly…..thank you
– Summer 2016 survey response.

One of the poems I workshopped in Tim Dooley’s class last year was published in the Rialto. One of the poems I workshopped in Mario’s class has been shortlisted by Magma for their next issue.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I’d just like to reiterate how fantastic Mario’s class has been. He is a brilliant teacher. I’ve learnt so much from him, and feel my writing has improved considerably as a result. He really put the ‘advanced’ in ‘advanced poetry workshop’. He’s inspired me to strive for excellence. It’s been a real privilege to have him as a tutor.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Certainly feeling part of the community of poets is massive, swapping info/publications is very useful. Feedback on work very valuable – graded courses and workshops work best.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

The poetry school helps you get exposed to different ways of learning, writing and thinking that might have taken years to find out on your own or most likely you would have never realised. That’s a very valuable gift.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Tim is always wonderful – this is the second course I have taken with him. Another great one, and I love getting to know other people who care about poetry.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

The poetry school has been wonderful for me. I am a lecturer in modern literature at a research university, but never wrote poetry myself. The school has enabled me to do so, and made me feel creative. It has also enriched my own teaching, and introduced me to a community of poets. I really do think it is such a wonderful institution.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

It has made a real difference to me. I was very nervous of reading anything I’d written to other people in case they destroyed the little confidence I have in what I write. But I was given encouragement to do this, and am glad I found the courage, because I received helpful and encouraging feedback. I learnt a lot about editing my poems so they would be more ready to submit, and am trying to work on implementing that with other poems. I also hope to submit some for a competition for another poetry school supported scheme which gives mentoring help. So having a better idea of editing helps me to prepare my submission for that too.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I took these classes at the poetry school since taking time off from work to parent my baby. It gave me such a welcome relief, and inspired me to write while she sleeps, both to share in this journey and to grow as a creative person and writer.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

It has been so liberating to be part of a community of poets – finally, people who don’t see poetry as “dead”, or exasperating, or boring, but instead as something worth being passionate about. I look forward to the sessions every month!
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I completed three terms at the poetry school and quite frankly feel privileged. I have learned so much and want to learn more. The tutors were expert and intellectually generous. I count myself as a lucky person to have had this experience.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Deepened my appreciation for formal content of poems; made me aware of a wider range of poetry and poets: made me appreciate more the social and artistic contexts in which poets are working; made me a better reviewer of other’s work and gave me a vocabulary for critiquing other’s work; made me a better and more sharply focused editor of my own work.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Penny is an inspired tutor. She gives a lot of thought to her workshops.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Encouraged me to re-engage with poetry
– Summer 2016 survey response.

My prose poem ‘White Work’ came out of an earlier online course on prose poetry/flash fiction with Carrie Etter. Was published first in Shearsman magazine and included my Dancing Girl press pamphlet ‘The Bitters’.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

Long listed in the National Poetry Competition with a poem written on Campus.
– Summer 2016 survey response.

The Emptiness published in Butcher’s Dog 4 (written during John Clegg’s online course) Several poems included in a book published by Cinnamon Press in 2015
– Summer 2016 survey response.

I’ve just had a poem ‘Wake-up Call’ accepted for publication in Southlight 20. The tutor and student feedback was invaluable in redrafting the poem to publication standard. – Human / Nature
– Summer 2016 survey response.

This course has helped me to appreciate and understand poetry much more, even though I read poetry regularly in the past. I have really enjoyed the course, Tammy is an excellent tutor, and I couldn’t have asked to spend the year in a better way, and in the company of more interesting people.
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

I find the courses at the Poetry School are very stimulating and I enjoy listening to others’ work as well as having my own poetry workshopped. I miss the classes during the holidays!
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

The fact that the poetry school exists, that there is a place I can go to learn about poetry, to keep learning. This is hugely encouraging and makes me feel like the world of poetry is so much more accessible than I imagined. And that there are so many different approaches and ways in. I always find something that really inspires me.
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

The Poetry School is creatively energising. Excellent tuition, and a committed attitude from fellow attenders.
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

I found Mario’s course fantastic. He is an amazing teacher, and although I’ve attended a number of workshops at the Poetry School, it wasn’t until now that I understood the difference between a good and a great poem. Mario’s class shed new light on my work and writing process, and not only helped me improve the poems I brought to the workshops, but helped me improve my writing – which I think is ultimately the aim of an advanced poetry workshop.
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

Taking classes at the Poetry School is pretty much what I look forward to most every month – they have increased my confidence, connected me with other writers and provided a wealth of ideas. Most of my poems wouldn’t have been written if it wasn’t for them.
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

The Poetry School has changed my life significantly and has affected the kind of work that I have chosen to do. It supports me both in my creativity and in my every day job.
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

The course is relaxing and stimulating. It has shown me new ways of writing and has truly inspired me.
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

The translation course with Graham Fawcett was life changing.
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

My writing and my writing process has been stimulated and inspired!
– Spring 2016 survey response, April 2016

The Poetry School has taught me that poetry is ordinary (accessible to me) and extraordinary – stimulating my brain to thoughts and their creative expression that might otherwise never have happened.
– Summer 2015 survey response, 26/06/2015

The Poetry School is a lifeline for ordinary people for whom poetry is the thing that sustains them. We may never be famous, we may never even be published but the Poetry School give us the opportunity to come together with likeminded people and realise that we are not alone, that our solitary efforts at writing have a value and purpose. The Poetry School nourishes and nurtures whatever abilities we have and gives support and encouragement to our work and therefore to us as individuals. It reaches people from all walks of life, there is no other organisation like it, it is needed.
– Summer 2015 survey response, 26/06/2015

You’ve had some excellent online course, some really interesting these to explore, and great tutors – shame I don’t have enough time or money to do them all!!
– Emma Simon, 18 April 2016, via email

I’ve really enjoyed my online course and I hope to become a regular part of the Poetry School Community. The course prompted me to look critically at my own work and most importantly, got me reading and writing poetry again. Fantastic experience!
– Spring 2016 online survey response, April 2016

I would be lost without The Poetry School courses.
– Olivia Dawson, CAMPUS Main Activity Stream, 2 July 2014

I have really enjoyed the course and everything Poetry School is doing for the cause of promoting this art … Personally, as I’ve never had any formal feedback/training it has been nothing short of utterly inspirational.
– Jake Higgins, April 2014, Online Feedback Course with Dai George (2014)

I am quite new to TPS – having only just begun with a few workshops and online courses at the start of 2015. As a Los Angeles-based writer many miles away from London, I am terribly impressed with the quality of tutors, conversation, and online community. Thank you for all that you do. The details such as your always-warm design-scheme and regular updates make me feel “a part of things” from afar.
– Jenelle D’Alessandro, via email, 13 Feb 2015

Poetry School is such a great resource. Many thanks at all those who work so hard at making it so fantastic!!
– Spring 2016 online survey response, April 2016

I’ve had a really productive time in a safe place and with people and content that inspired! Thank you
– Spring 2016 online survey response, April 2016

Congratulations on a marvellous site and excellent poetry courses
– Spring 2016 online survey response, April 2016

Thank you for organising my course. The course worked well for me and left me with plenty to think about.
– Richard Carpenter, via online survey, Spring 2016

I have had a couple of grants from you to do poetry courses and the resulting work has won several prizes and achieved publication – you have really boosted my career as a poet more than any other organisation.
– Jacqueline Haskell, by email, 4 August, 2014

I always believed writing was a solitary occupation, and for that reason, I think I wrote less in the past. Since joining CAMPUS I have realised how sociable writing can be and now I devote far more time to writing. It’s great to be part of a community of writers.
– Summer 2015 Survey Response, 25/06/2015

The Poetry School, via CAMPUS and other courses, has indeed provided me, a working mum with school aged children, with access to excellent tuition and connections to the poetry community that I couldn’t otherwise have made.
– Louise Ordish, CAMPUS Main Activity Stream, 2 July 2014

Part of the reason I’m doing this course is to force myself to make time to write poetry, and it is working beautifully!
– Liz Sage, 12 June 2014, Wunderkammer! (2014)

Courses at the Poetry School have enriched my life, providing many links with all sorts of other people engaged in the same processes of trying to write poetry. They have provided continuous challenge and stimulation to keep going. Not to mention encouragement! Also a constant standard of excellence in the tutors and many others has proved to be an anchor.
– Summer 2015 Survey Response, 26/06/2015

A constant source of support and inspiration
– Summer 2015 Survey Response, 26/06/2015

It has broadened and enriched my experience of poetry and the writing of poetry.
– Summer 2015 Survey Response, 26/06/2015

Hi PS – just to share the good news that a poem I produced as part of Ryan van Winkle’s ’Write what you don’t know’ course has been selected for the September issue of Envoi – so I’m really, really pleased. And a poem from Claire Trevien’s ’Home’ course was accepted by Lighthouse for their last issue!! Thanks for doing what you do. I certainly would not have come anywhere near this far in my writing without you guys and all you offer.
– Claire Cox, 5 July 2015, via CAMPUS

So live poetry chats are less scary than imagined & useful way of learning critiquing skills as well. Thanks @OneNightStanzas @poetryschool
– Clare Archibald, on Twitter, 7th May 2015

Many thanks to you all for providing a creative and nurturing environment for poetry and poets, and special thanks for the guidance and inspiration I’ve found within your community.
– Tessa Lang, by email, 7 July 2014

I love the poetry school courses – they always inspire me to write more and I discover wonderful poets in the poems which tutors provide for discussion and as prompts and inspiration.
– Evaluation Summer 2015 Survey Response, 26/06/2015

The Poetry School has given me a monthly focus and discipline which has been very good for my development.
– Evaluation Summer 2015 Survey Response, 26/06/2015

The Open Workshops are a great resource. Well thought out / challenging assignments and thoughtful feedback during the live chat. Thank you for the effort involved in putting on the latest one and thank you Poetry School for supporting these
– Clare Hepworth-Wain, 12 June 2014

I just wanted to say a huge thankyou for last week. I’ve been scribbling for years but have never had the courage to get to a class or take myself that seriously. I thought the class was amazing and am so looking forward to all the rest of the course. See you on Thursday.
– Anna Beddow, Clare Shaw’s Manchester ‘Instructions for Throwing Your Voice’ course, Autumn 2015

As I don’t seem to have been asked for official feedback on Edmund Prestwich’s wonderful PS Course which spanned Homer’s Odyssey and Illiad and investigated a range of contemporary responses, I wish to let you know what a credit to the Poetry School these five sessions were. The academic and erudite depth of the tutor’s knowledge and understanding and the detailed and thorough preparation were key factors in making the whole experience enlightening, uplifting and inspiring. We learnt an enormous amount in this short course (a pity it could not have been longer) as well as having the opportunity to get tutor and peer feedback on our own poems written in response to the studied materials.
– Vivien Finney, email , 11 July 2015

I have found Poetry School enormously productive both face-to-face and online.
– Derek Littlewood, 4 September 2014, via email

I took just the one course this term and I have to say that this one was excellent. Having enjoyed last term’s reading group course this one provided the extra element of weekly prompts for writing. The choice of music content and comments from Rishi were interesting, challenging and inspiring. The writing prompts were fabulous and I was taken down routes I have not travelled before, finding very exciting places! The core group of regular contributors was supportive, chatty and provided great material to read and discuss. I know that my confidence and style developed during the 10 weeks and I am looking forward to continuing the musical themed listening, reading and writing with the new community group.
– Spring 2016 online survey response, April 2016

What a great idea setting this up- can’t tell you how much it means to know it’s possible to connect with the outside world/ poetry community when having a newborn baby, as it can be an exceptionally solitary and challenging time!
– Martha Prideaux-Brune, 3 September 2014, via email

I am already participating in the community groups and look forward to exploring CAMPUS more thoroughly – it seems like a fantastic resource, very accessible and informative and I am excited about its capabilities. To have access to professional poets writing in English whilst living abroad in a non-English speaking country is thrilling, it makes up for not being able to hang out at Grasmere or down in Covent Garden’s Poetry Café. Or in your own classrooms for that matter.
– Anna Powney, via email, 5 September 2014

I hope you will be interested to know that Indigo Dreams Press has accepted the poem I wrote out of your session on 5 Easy Pieces this summer. It will be one of three they are going to showcase. I worked away on the dynamics of the lines and Hey Presto! Thanks so much for your inspiration.
– Maggie Mackay, 12 September 2014

I’ve visited “Poetry School” website today and I really like it. I want to congratulate you for creating such a great resource for aspiring poets.
– Janis Krumins, via email, 18 September

Hello, I just wanted to make the Poetry School aware that a poem I began writing during Helen Ivory’s ’Wunderkammer’ course has won the Portico Brotherton Prize. In addition to Helen, I would like to thank Andrew Philip, as I also drew heavily on the techniques he introduced in his ’Walking the Line’ course. Thank you, Poetry School!
– Elisabeth Sennitt Clough, 23 October 2014

Just wanted to let you know that a poem I worked up at the start of the ‘Transreading Central Europe’ course has just won 2nd prize at the Sherborne Literary Festival. I got a grant for this course, and I know you like to keep track of successes!
– Jacqui Haskell, 10th November 2014

This is just to say ‘thank you’ at the end of a great first course with the Poetry School. It’s been an excellent experience, brilliantly run. My goal at the start was to produce one draft I felt could be whittled into shape; I think I have managed that and have also learnt a huge amount from reading and commenting on other people’s work. I’m busy browsing the Spring courses now.
– Liz Soar, email, 26th November 2014

I hopped on to this site by providence, an initial look through is very inspiring. As a person who jots down lines at leisure, this place is one meeting point for poetic souls, I hope. Waiting to know you all.
– Jayne, CAMPUS Main Activity Stream, 4th December 2014

I’ve had some good news recently in that I’m going to have two publications out in 2015 – firstly a pamphlet with Stonewood Press in Feb/Mar, which will feature several of the Writing the Family poems that I workshopped on Hannah Lowe’s course. Then later in the year Valley Press will bring out a full collection, including my work-in-progress Bilsthorpe sequence, which features poems from both Helen Ivory’s Wunderkammer course and also John Clegg’s Mythopoesis course. I’m hoping to finish this sequence with the help of Re-writing the Map with Suzannah Evans, which I recently signed up for.
So thank you all for your help in the development of this work – I genuinely couldn’t have got to this point without the input of the Poetry School, its fabulous tutors and also the interaction of fellow students which has become very important to me in benchmarking my work, and also taking a sounding from the market.

– Di Slaney, by email, 5th December 2014

Thank you, Poetry School! I loved taking part in Jack Underwood’s Evening Class this past summer, as part of your summer school. A poem I started during the class has now been published in a great magazine, and I can’t wait to take another class with one of your tutors in the future. Thanks, Poetry School!
– Amy Schreibman Walter, 18 December 2014

I made use of the bursary last year to attend Tammy’s (Yoseloff) class and I would not have been able to study without it! This year’s study and new found love of words has quite literally changed my life for the better. I’m so very happy to be writing and to have met such a wonderful bunch of Poets. I feel quite blessed
– Victoria Hicks, via CAMPUS, December 2014

I just wanted to say that ’August Afternoon under a plane tree in Athens’ has just been accepted for publication in the 40th edition of the online literary magazine ’The Ofi Press’. A massive thank you to Dai George for spotting the weakness in the original version of my poem and prompting the re-draft and to everyone who helped me with my revision. I am delighted as this is my first publication of a poem in the English language. Thank you!
– Vanessa Albedo-Bennu, Jan 2nd, via CAMPUS

Just wanted to drop you a personal line in total praise of Ela and the course – it has been truly wonderful and has totally changed the way I think about, read and write poetry. I cannot praise it and her enough. As you know, I got a grant for it, and I am so grateful. More please!
– Jacqui Haskell, via email, Wednesday 28 January 2015